Archives / Have Cheetah - Will Review / movies

Have Cheetah,Will Review #7 – “Eye of the Beholder”

It’s 2:42 pm.

Still transferring my older film reviews to here. This was my first Shane Weiss review.
Shane is young film director I have been watching since finding this gem on YouTube.
I originally posted this on 8 Sept 15.

Lori and I loved going to museums and art galleries. While she went to more then I did as she traveled Europe and went many of the famous art houses and galleries there,I still did my own fair share of shows on a more local level. The love of art was yet another reason why our union was so wonderful. Whether visiting major exhibits in Detroit,Toronto and Chicago or small shows in Ann Arbor,Northville or Grand Rapids,we enjoyed them very much. What was different was our opinions on what we saw in each piece. While we both loved and adored the masters,it was Modern art where we disagreed on,she liked it and I rarely did.
We would do lunch and coffee and talk about what we saw and how we saw it.

Which brings me to this cool short film by  young talented 17 year old Shane Weiss. I caught a RT on Twitter that recommended watching this film and so I whistled to Paladin. He raced up the stairs and we watched it together.
“Eye of the Beholder” is extremely clever,thought provoking and funny. It takes place in a art gallery during a juried show. The most simplest of the pieces is also the most insightful while Weiss also comments on how pretentious we are in elevating objects (and people) who really shouldn’t be. The lengths we go to be seen as more then we are is also pointed out in a sly and humorous way. The way we see ourselves,be it good or bad,should never be taken for granted. What we look at is never the same and this fine short film really shines in bringing this out.

What really makes this film is the excellent piano score by Ross Bugden called “Paradise”. It runs through the film and really helps you understand what Shane is showing you. These two talents will be heard from again in the near future and I,for one,can’t wait to see what they work on next.

The cheetah and I give this 2 thumbs and 4 paws up….

If you are on Twitter,follow me @Jinzo_2400

Shane also has a Twitter,follow his rising star @Sweiss32

2 thoughts on “Have Cheetah,Will Review #7 – “Eye of the Beholder”

Leave a Reply

